Here I Sit

By Deanna Parish

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a life

Moving forward but getting nowhere

So tired that I don’t even care

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a marriage

Talking but not sharing our mutual pain

Feelings too difficult to explain

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a mother

Loving but yet afraid of the cost

Knowing the grief when a child is lost

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a person

A body alive but not really living

Too little left to keep on giving

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a home

Pretty but hiding the ugly ache

No amount of time will ever shake

Here I sit

Living inside this shell of a faith

Asking but afraid of His reply

To why my dreams have all run dry

Here I sit

Living inside my shells so frail

Trying to protect them to no avail

One small blow will do them in

And crush the woman sitting within

candlingday7a

